Features and Varieties of Yellow Tea

Compare to the thousand kinds of green tea, there are only few kinds of yellow tea that survive today. Most yellow teas are made in Hunan, Anhui and Zhejiang; smaller amounts are produced in Sichuan, Hubei and Guangdong.

In China, yellow tea is generally classified into three types according the plucking standard. They are:

Yellow Bud Tea:

Processed with single buds. Which includes:

Jun Shan Yin Zhen (君山银针) Literally: Junshan Silver Needle. From Jun Shan island in Dong Ting lake, Yueyang, Hunan Province.

Meng Ding Huang Ya(蒙顶黄芽) Literally:Mengding Yellow Bud(sprout). From Mt. Meng area, YaAn,Mingshan county, Sichuan Province.

Huo Shan Huang Ya (霍山黄芽) Literally:Huoshan Yellow Bud(sprout).from Mt. Huo area, Anhui Province.

Yellow Small Leaf Tea:

Processed with buds and tender leaves. Which includes:

Bei Gang Mao Jian(北港毛尖) Literally: Beigang Tippy. From Yueyang, Hunan Province.

Wei Shan Mao Jian(沩山毛尖)Literally: Weishan Tippy. From Ningxiang, Hunan Province.

Yuan An Lu Yuan(远安鹿苑)From YuanAn, Hubei Province.

Huang Tang(黄汤) Literally: Yellow Soup. From Wenzhou, Pingyang, Zhejiang Province.

Yellow Large Leaf Tea:

Processed with 1 bud and 4-5 leaves. Which includes

Huo Shan Huang Da Cha(霍山黄大茶)Literally: Huoshan Yellow Large  Leaf Tea. From Mt. Huo area, Anhui Province.

Guang Dong Da Ye Qing(广东大叶青) Literally: Big Leaf Green. From Shaoguan, Zhaoqing, Zhanjiang, Guangdong province.

2038 thoughts on “Features and Varieties of Yellow Tea”

Leave a Reply